My Husband Called Me Fat

I was waiting in line by the counter at CVS to pay. A gossip magazine was yelling out at me. Kim Kardasian’s HUSBAND FROM HELL. From hearing FIT girls talk about stupid celebrity gossip, I knew that Kim just got married a few months ago. Had a huge Hollywood wedding and everything. I have no idea how many times she’s been married, but I’m guessing it’s more than once. Underneath the huge headline, it said, “he hit on other women and called Kim FAT.” Oh my GOD. IT’S THE END OF THE WORLD. Well, end of the marriage, anyway. There are plenty of wives who are physically abused and treated like absolute shit all over the country, but when Kim is called fat by her playboy husband, it makes it to the cover of every gossip magazine. It blows my fucking mind.

I swear Hollywood has ruined the sanctity of marriage in the States. Okay, I’m not being fair. There are plenty of other factors that have led to this. But Hollywood plays a big part of it. These rich beautiful people that the public “aspires” to be…  change spouses whenever they get bored. Like husbands and wives are furniture… or wallpaper. Why keep your old lackluster room when you can afford to redecorate? Why stick with a color you no longer like when you can just paint over it with a fresh new one? Why can’t you Hollywood snobs just not get married and date around like normal people?

More and more people are getting married on a whim. And getting divorced when things start to turn sour. Coming from Asia, this is hard to understand for me. If you’re not 100% sure you want to marry someone and stay committed, why the hell are you doing it? You shouldn’t do it unless you’re willing to give it your absolute best to make it work. My parents have been married for over 20 years. They’ve had problems. And I mean MAJOR problems. Some of which a lot of American couples would’ve broken up over. They feel obligated to stay married and work out their issues because marriage is not something that should be taken lightly. It is a binding contract. If you’re religious (my parents are), this is also a contract with “God.”

Another reason why I started thinking about this subject was because a few of kids my age that I know from high school are getting married (or are already married). Mind you, I’m only 19 years old. I don’t want to sound like a complete cynic, but HA. GOOD LUCK. We’ll see how happily in love you are a few years down the road. I’m not saying that I don’t believe in young love. Because I absolutely do. Be infatuated! Be in love! Enjoy your youth! Just don’t get fucking married before you’re even allowed to drink!!!

When I think of divorces, I think of bloodsucking lawyers, alimony and custody battles. Then I got to thinking about the whole society’s norm bullshit. You meet “the one,” you marry “the one,” you have children with “the one.” What if you do indeed meet “the one,” but don’t want to get married? What if you fall in love “the one,” and want to have children out of wedlock? What if you don’t meet “the one” at all, and just want to have some fucking kids? Yada yada yada. The list goes on. These lines are becoming more blurred, but they’re still there. If my future husband ever calls me FAT, I’m going to file for divorce. Ha, I’m just kidding. I don’t want to get married. Ever.

About Han J.

Located in NYC.

3 responses to “My Husband Called Me Fat

  1. gulrotkake lavkarbo Seriously? I’d rather eat some gulrotkake lavkarbo instead of this. I know you can do better 🙂

  2. There is no “sanctity of marriage,” that’s such a bullshit idea. Religion plays no part in the legal definition of marriage at all because a marriage license is a legal contract issued by state governments, not churches. Whether or not people choose to have a religious wedding ceremony is just window dressing. By the way, the US constitution dictates that we have separation of church and state as well. Religion and “god” have no place in the legal definition of marriage, absolutely none. Furthermore, why do you care what types of marriages people have or how long it lasts, why not get a life of your own to worry about? Who cares what you think of other people’s marriages? It’s their life, not yours, so get over it. The divorce rate is not 50% either, that’s a myth. It’s probably more like 30%. I’m no fan of the Kardashians either but no woman should stay with a man who insults her and calls her fat. It’s demeaning. Verbal abuse is abuse too.

  3. usmell

    Korea divorce rates are much higher than usa

Leave a Reply

