I’m Hatin’ It

The food industry in the States makes me sick. The fact that I am technically supporting the evil corporations at the top of the “food chain” because I can’t afford organic shit makes me even sicker. I hate that I love fast food. But man, do I love it. I’m a borderline addict. I’m a poor college student. The cheapest and easiest food to get is the shittiest food for your health. I’m slowly but surely killing myself by eating all this crap. I don’t need a nutritionist (or a pretentious vegan) to tell me that.

A bagel with too much cream cheese for breakfast. Meaty, cheesy sandwich for lunch. Two dollar slices for dinner. Sometimes I feel like a complete fatass. Mind you, I’m barely over 100 lbs. But when I’m on the verge of a food coma and have difficulty breathing, I feel like a fatass. I’m useless in the kitchen, so cooking is out of the question. When I want to have some other type of cuisine, I usually need to pay extra… unless it’s some shitty Americanized Chinese food (which I hate). By the way, real Chinese food doesn’t taste like Panda Express. If you go to China expecting the egg foo young and lo mein you get here, you’re in for a big surprise. You probably wouldn’t like it, unless you’re willing to expand your horizons and try some chicken feet or pig ears (which are actually pretty delicious).

I don’t really miss the food in China. But goddamn it, I miss the food in Korea. I miss it so much. Korean food in the city is too fucking expensive, and Korean food is just horribly difficult to make (especially for me; I have an extraordinary ability to mess up the simplest of dishes). I love kimchi. Most Americans I know can’t even stand the smell of kimchi, but I’m Korean and I love my kimchi. I’m always pleasantly surprised whenever I meet a westerner who appreciates kimchi; it’s very rare. Korean food is so flavorful. It has so many varieties, so many spices. Asian food (in general) places great importance in variety and in using spices. A typical Korean meal would be a bowl of rice and several different dishes to go with it.

I’m tired of meat, cheese and bread. With extra cheese. And fries on the side. But what I’m most tired of is Americans’ ignorance when it comes to where their food comes from. The disgusting, inhumane animal farms. The handful of conglomerates that control the entire food industry. (Yes, I read Fast Food Nation and watched Food Inc. and Super Size Me; I’ve stopped going to McDonald’s but I still love a good burger) The consumers generally don’t even care where their food comes from. It’s there, and they buy it. At the fast food chain, at whatever restaurant, the grocery store. They don’t question it. I wish I never did.

About Han J.

Located in NYC.

Leave a Reply

